top of page

Was I Ever a Child


A child is supposed to fly without limits

In manner of play and imagination

A child is supposed to be loved

Taught how to love

How to go beyond

Yet,

It doesn’t always happen …

Not as it should

A child loses their inspiration for life

Becoming lost in other people’s faults and lacks

In so many disillusions and unknown affection

Taking one step towards a dream was wrong because of manmade rules

Rules that had nothing to do with that dream

Rules that had nothing to do with wanted adventures

Taking one step to love was supposed to be of great wonders

Yet, was distracted by another road that led to fear and unwanted words

If you spoke - consequences were gained

If you cried - you were known as weak

If you ran - where would you go?

Trying to reach out of your limits was impossible

Harsh words were spoken giving a false reality

Setting in a belief that you were disabled in some way or form

A touch that lacked love, but was full of destruction's’ and distractions

When looking in the mirror caused tears to flow

Along with the belief that there is no beauty, in or out

Who can I find? What can I do? Where can I go?

The only answers found were the ones created within oneself

Or what another person’s hatred would speak

Right or wrong it was the only choice

Growing up wasn’t easy

But a hard character developed and a hypocritical spirit was found

Finally standing without choice

Facing the pain and destruction created by the surroundings

Staring with anger and hatred

Willing to destroy

Whether good or bad, liked or not

The options taken were the ones given

The reason being were one’s given without choice

One day came to be

All of a sudden a new realization

Words of love and wonder poured into an empty space

Something never known before

Someone known, yet not known at the same time

Spoken words created a new dream

I CAN fly I CAN dream

I HAVE destiny I HAVE new options

I’ve begun to find, do and run

The answer was always at my reach

Never ceasing to follow

One day came with a complete turn around

The reality of being loved

The reality of making love

Learning how to forgive and forget

In so many different ways

Strength and loyalty was gained

Being outspoken in truth and reality

Realizing that tears are another form of strength

Crying and letting others cry with and on you

I thank You, my God

I may have walked the long road, but I did walk

Given the wrong map, but I finally found the right one

I arrived where I need to be

I’m headed to better and beyond

I have no limits, but I do give limits

I thank You, my God

I’m able to live and let live

The limits given taught me a better way

Redirection is now an option

Because the map given is to a limitless road

I thank You, my God

For my loss and for my gain

For my love and for loves to come

Tags:

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Me
bottom of page